Skip to main content
2016-2017 Colloquium Series | Department of Computer Science and Engineering | Michigan State University

CSE Lecture Series: 2015-2016

Lectures are usually on Fridays at 11:00am in EB3105 unless otherwise specified. These lectures are free and open to everyone.

Spring 2017

Jan 27 (Friday, 11am, EB 3105)
Jiliang Tang
Michigan State University
The Obvious that is not so Obvious in Job Hunting
Host: Eric Torng

Feb 24 (Friday, 10:15am, EB 3105)
Oleg Komogortsev
Texas State University
Eye movements and their use in cybersecurity, health assessment, and other applications
Host: Anil Jain

March 13 (Monday, 11am, EB 3105)
Xinchao Wang
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (UIUC)
Eyes and Brains Everywhere: Intelligent Video Analytics
Host: Arun Ross

March 16 (Thursday, 10am, EB 3105)
Dr. David Crandall
Indiana University Bloomington
Egocentric computer vision, for fun and science
Host: Dr. Joyce Chai

Mar 31 (Friday, 11am, EB 3405)
Laura Haas
IBM Research
Distinguished Lecturer
Data, Analytics, and the Dawn of the Cognitive Era of Computing
Host: Dr. Laura Dillon

April 7 (Friday, 11am, EB 3105)
Sharathchandra Pankanti
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Learning and Recognizing Archeological Features from LiDAR Data
Host: Anil Jain

April 14 (Friday, 11am, EB 3405)
Vipin Kumar
Unviersity of Minnesota
Distinguished Lecturer
TBD
Host: H. Metin Aktulga

April 28 (Friday, 11am, EB 3105)
Simon Lucey
Robotics Institute, Carnegie Mellon University
"The Fast & the Compressible" - Reconstructing the 3D World through Mobile Devices
Host: Xiaoming Liu

Fall 2016


Sep 23 (Friday, 11am, EB 3105)

Fei Wang
Cornell University

Title: Integrative Network Analytics for Insights Generation from Massive Healthcare Data

Host: Dr. Jiayu Zhou


Oct 4 (Tuesday, 3pm, EB 3105)

Matthew Staymates
National Institute of Standards and Technology

Title: Applications of Additive Manufacturing for Trace Contraband Detection

Host: Dr. Anil Jain


Oct 7 (Friday, 11am, EB 3105)

Octav Chipara
University Of Iowa

Title: Managing the Energy-Delay Trade-off in Mobile Applications with Tempus

Host: Dr. Guoliang Xing and Dr. Xiaoming Liu


Oct 14 (Friday, 11am, EB 3105)

David Ackley
University of New Mexico

Title: Indefinitely Scalable Computer Architecture

Host: Dr. Charles Ofria


Nov 18 (Friday, 11am, EB 3105)

Jinbo Xu
Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago

Title: Folding Proteins by Big Data and Deep Learning

Host: Dr. Hu Ding


Dec 2 (Friday, 11am, EB 3405)

Vijayakumar Bhagavatula
Carnegie Mellon University
Distinguished Lecturer

Title: Innovative Correlation Filter Designs and Approaches for Object Recognition and Tracking

Host: Dr. Arun Ross