2017-2018 Colloquium Series | Department of Computer Science and Engineering | Michigan State University

CSE Lecture Series: 2017-2018

Lectures are usually on Fridays at 11:00am in EB3105 unless otherwise specified. These lectures are free and open to everyone.

Spring 2019

Mar 22 (Friday, 10am, 3405 A/B)
Mr. John-Paul Ore
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
Incorporating Real-World Semantics into Program Analysis of Robot Systems
Host: Prof. Betty Cheng

Mar 18 (Monday, 10am, 3405 A/B)
Mr. Muhammad Mehdi (Taqi Raza)
University of California Los Angeles
In(Security) and Un(Availability) of 4G/5G Networked Systems
Host: Prof. Sandeep Kulkarni

Mar 15 (Friday, 10am, 3105)
Ms. Kristen Johnson
Purdue University
Weakly-supervised Modeling of Language, Social, and Behavioral Abstractions for Microblog Political Discourse Classification
Host: Prof. Betty Cheng

Mar 11 (Monday, 10am, 3405 A/B)
Mr. Ruozhou Yu
Arizona State University
Modern Flow-based Networks for a Connected Cyber-Physical World
Host: Prof. Li Xiao

Mar 1 (Friday, 10am, 3105)
Ms. Yihan Sun
Carnegie Mellon University
Parallel Balanced Binary Trees Using Just Join
Host: Prof. Joyce Chai

Feb 28 (Thu, 11am, 3105)
Dr. Ruigang Yang
Baidu Research
Sim-to-Real: Using Simulations for 3D Perception and Navigation
Host: Prof. Xiaoming Liu

Feb 26 (Tue, 2pm, 3540)
Mr. Chen Wang
Rutgers University
Developing Intelligent Mobile Sensing Systems - From Public Welfare to Individual Wellbeing
Prof. Alex Liu

Feb 25 (Mon, 10am, 3405 A/B)
Dr. Ferdinando Fioretto
Georgia Institute of Technology
Privacy in the field: Protecting Sensitive Data for AI Applications
Prof. Charles Ofria

Feb 19 (Fri, 10am, 3405 A/B)
Dr. Qiben Yan
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Connecting The "Dots": Protecting the Internet-of-Things via a Multilayer Approach
Prof. Li Xiao

Feb 8 (Fri, 10am, 3405 A/B)
Dr. Parisa Kordjamshidi
Tulane University
Declarative Learning-based Programming for Learning and Reasoning over Spatial Language
Prof. Joyce Chai

Feb 6 (Wed, 10am, 3405 A/B)
Dr. Jaspreet Bhatia
Carnegie Mellon University
Ambiguity in Privacy Requirements and Privacy Risk Perception
Prof. Arun Ross

Fall 2018

Nov 30 (Friday, 11am, 3105)
Dr. Yanjie Fu
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Collective Representation Learning in Spatial and Temporal Data Environments: Techniques and Applications
Host: Prof. Jiliang Tang

Nov 16 (Friday, 11am, 3105)
Dr. Feng Chen
State University of New York - Albany
A unified optimization framework for pattern detection in attributed networks
Host: Prof. Jiliang Tang

Oct 9 (Tuesday, 12pm, 3105)
Dr. Mo Li
Nanyang Technological University
Sensing with WiFi – the theory, practice, challenges, and limits
Host: Prof. Li Xiao

Sep 7 (Friday, 11am, 3105)
Dr. David Bolme
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Identity Science Research at Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Host: Prof. Arun Ross

Sep 11 (Tuesday, 11am, TBA)
Dr. Jonathon Phillips
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Information Technology Laboratory
Face Recognition Accuracy of Forensic Examiners, Superrecognizers, and Face Recognition Algorithms
Host: Prof. Anil K. Jain

Sep 28 (Friday, 11am, 3105)
Dr. Chunyi Peng
Department of Computer Science
Purdue University
AIM: Amplifying Intelligence in Mobile Networks
Host: Prof. Guan-hua Tu